Study in Italy: ERASMUS in a Nutshell

Italy welcomes the largest number of ERASMUS students annually. Here’s a nifty guide to the European scholarship and exchange programme.


What is the ERASMUS Programme?

The ERASMUS Programme was established in 1987 as a student exchange programme allowing European students to have the benefit of a ‘mobility’ driven educational experience. It has since expanded to include 37 countries and over 5,000 institutions benefitting almost 3,00,000 higher education students worldwide annually.

Introduced in January 2014, Erasmus+ is the EU's programme to support education, training, youth and sport. Its budget of €14.7 billion will provide opportunities for over 4 million international students to study, train, and gain experience abroad, until 2020.

The ERASMUS-Mundus Joint Masters Degree is one of the scholarships programmes offered under the ERASMUS umbrella.

What is the ERASMUS-Mundus Joint Masters Degree (EMJMD)?

The EMJMD is an international programme, jointly delivered by a network of higher education institutions. They award EU-funded scholarships to study in at least two of the selected Programme or Partner countries around the world for a minimum of 12 months to a maximum of 24 months. India is a partner country for the programme. A list of all the Programme and Partner Countries are available here.

Who can apply?

It is open to students of Master’s level worldwide. The EMJMD Catalogue displays the masters offering Erasmus Mundus funded scholarships in the academic year 2020-2021. Students can apply both independently and through their institutes of higher education (if their institute is part of the consortium of higher education institutes in the ERASMUS Programme).

What does the scholarship entail?

There are various scholarships available under the EMJMD Catalogue and depending on the country, course, and cost of tuition, they offer full or partial financial assistance. The scholarships generally cover travel, living expenses, course fees and insurance. The total amount of the scholarship varies according to the duration of your course and your nationality (non-EU students receive larger scholarships). There are normally between ten and 20 scholarships per year, but you can’t submit applications to more than three EMJDM consortia. A minimum of 75% of the scholarships are awarded to candidates from Partner countries. To receive Erasmus+ financial support, you must first be admitted onto the course by the organising consortium and then be selected for an EMJMD scholarship.

What can I look forward to?

Completing the EMJMD programme will lead to a joint degree (single degree certificate issued on behalf of at least two higher education institutions of the EMJMD consortium) or multiple degrees (at least two degree certificates issued by two higher education institutions of the consortium).

Most importantly, it gives the student a global educational experience with a chance to study in multiple countries. You are exposed to an internationally certified educational framework around the world that helps you build better connections for your future. 

For a better understanding of the myriad programmes and scholarships offered by ERASMUS refer to the detailed ERASMUS+ Programme Guide. Those looking to apply for the ERASMUS-Mundus Joint Masters Degree, should also look at this FAQ Guide for the process.


Image courtesy: @ithmus/flickr

Posted in Europe on Jan 21, 2020